Skip to main content

Committee on Institutional Cooperation



The Committee on Institutional Cooperation of the Council of Ten and the University of Chicago was established in 1958. The committee was composed of leading administrators from each of the member universities. Member institutions include: The University of Chicago, University of Illinois, Indiana University, University of Iowa, University of Michigan, Michigan State University, University of Minnesota, Northwestern University, Ohio State University, Purdue University and the University of Wisconsin.

The Committee on Institutional Cooperation was established as a communication center for its member institutions to improve educational and public service by minimizing duplication and by utilizing each institutions' individual strengths.

Funded largely by grants from the Carnegie Corporation and its member universities, the committee provides for development of inter-institutional programs. Most proposals for programs to be funded by the committee are generated by the faculties of the constituent organizations.

Major programs initiated by the C.I.C. include a traveling scholar program, allowing scholars from one university to study at another. A study of the effects of weather upon living organisms or biometeorology was also funded by the committee. Foreign language training programs at the various universities were coordinated and a foreign study program instituted.

Northwestern University was represented on the committee by J. Lyndon Shanley, the associate dean of the College of Liberal Arts.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Records of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC)

Identifier: 0/15/1

This series consists of two boxes of records pertaining to the activities and functions of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC) from January 18, 1958 to May 3, 1973. It includes agendas and minutes of CIC meetings, annual reports, correspondence, and reports issued by the Committee.

Dates: 1958-1985