Skip to main content

Meyerowitz, Jan, 1913-1998



Jan Meyerowitz (born April 23, 1913, Breslau, died December 15, 1998, Colmar) was an American composer of German birth. He studied composition and conducting at the Hochschule für Musik in Berlin and the Accademia di Santa Cecilia in Rome. In 1946 he married the French singer Marguerite Fricker and emigrated to the U.S.; he became an American citizen in 1951. He held teaching positions at the opera department of the Berkshire Music Center (1948-1951) and at Brooklyn College (1954-1961) and City College (1962-1980) of the City University of New York. He lectured frequently for German radio services and wrote a monograph on Schoenberg (1967). He also appeared as a pianist and conductor, mainly in Italy. On his retirement from CUNY in 1980 he settled in France.

Meyerowitz collaborated with the African-American poet Langston Hughes on several projects including three operas (The Barrier (1950), Esther (1956), and Port Town (1960)) and two cantatas (The Glory Around His Head (1953) and The Five Foolish Virgins (1953)). He composed many works for orchestra, band, and voice.

Found in 2 Collections and/or Records:

Jan Meyerowitz papers

Identifier: Meyerowitz
Scope and Contents

Includes manuscript and printed scores, correspondence, and ephemera.

Dates: 1935-1980; Other: Date acquired: 03/06/1980

Music-related autographs collection

Identifier: Music Autographs
Scope and Contents

Collection of single letters, manuscripts, photographs, and ephemera relating to composers, conductors, performers, musicologists, publishers, librettists, and stage directors.

Dates: 1819-2007