Skip to main content

Presidents and Vice Presidents, 1783-1970


Scope and Contents

From the Collection:

Following the series of correspondence and documents for U.S. Presidents and Vice Presidents through the term of the Nixon/Agnew administration is a second series consisting of correspondence of presidents pro-tempore of the U.S. Senate and presidents of particular administrations which held a prominent place in the history of the United States. These include Elias Boudinot, president of the Continental Congress, Sam Houston, president of Texas, and Jefferson Davis, president of the Confederate States of America. This second series is also in chronological order according to term of office. Included with many of the letters, documents or autograph signatures are short biographical sketches, transcriptions of holograph items, and reproductions of photographs or engravings.


  • 1783-1970


From the Collection: 2 Boxes

Language of Materials

From the Collection: English

Library Details

Part of the Charles Deering McCormick Library of Special Collections Repository

Deering Library, Level 3
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston IL 60208-2300 US