Skip to main content

Marguerite Wilkinson Collection

Identifier: MS191

  • Staff Only
  • No requestable containers

Scope and Contents

This small collection of correspondence and archival materials related to Marguerite Ogden Wilkinson was originally part of the Wilkinson collection of poetry books which consisted of over 200 titles. Many of the volumes contain presentations, notes, brief holograph poems or letters addressed to Wilkinson. Letters and ephemera laid into the books were removed when the books were cataloged, and used to create this Wilkinson archival collection. Presentation notes, letters or poems which are a physical part of any books have remained in them, but are acknowledged in a cataloging note.

This finding aid for the Wilkinson Collection (MS191) contains the inventory of letters from poets which were removed from various volumes; the folders include the call numbers of those books. Included are seven letters from John Masefield and three letters from Ruth Comfort Mitchell Young. Other poets represented in the correspondence include Richard Aldington, Witter Bynner, Max Eastman, Robert Frost, William Griffith, A.E. Houseman, George William Russell (AE), and W.B. Yeats. The Wilkinson family also presented some ephemera related to the life, death and funeral service of Marguerite Wilkinson. Articles written about the collection between 1934 and 1946 by Northwestern University Libraries staff members are also included.


  • 1912 - 1928


Conditions Governing Access

There are no restrictions on use of the materials in the department for research; all patrons must comply with federal copyright regulations.


1 Boxes

Language of Materials



Marguerite Ogden Wilkinson (1883-1928) began writing poetry when she attended Northwestern University. She published several volumes of poetry while working as an editor and poetry reviewer for the Los Angeles Graphic, Books and Authors, The New York Times Book Review, and Poetry magazine. She lectured on modern poetry at schools, library associations, and women’s clubs. She left her library, with accompanying correspondence from various poets such as Robert Frost, John Masefield, and W.B. Yeats, to Northwestern University. The books were cataloged as a Wilkinson collection; letters and notes were separated to form this archival collection, MS191.


Correspondence in the Marguerite Wilkinson collection is arranged in alphabetical order by the author's last name. This is followed by a miscellaneous collection of related material.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Marguerite Ogden Bigelow Wilkinson left her collection of poetry volumes and any accompanying letters to Northwestern University in her will. The materials were received by the library in 1929 with the exception of a few additions donated by descendant John B. Lord, Sr. in 1993.

Separated Materials

The 219 volumes of poetry in Marguerite Wilkinson’s library have been cataloged and can be found in the Northwestern University Libraries online catalog with a Wilkinson call number (example: Wilkinson 821.09 W687). The cataloging records indicate the existence of any presentation notes, poems or letters related to specific titles.

Guide to the Marguerite Wilkinson Collection
Revised by Sigrid Pohl Perry
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description

Library Details

Part of the Charles Deering McCormick Library of Special Collections Repository

Deering Library, Level 3
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston IL 60208-2300 US