Skip to main content

Northwestern University (Evanston, Ill.). Associated Student Government



The Associated Student Government, or ASG, was founded in April of 1969 to replace the Student Senate, which had been the student government from 1960 until ASG’s inception (see Processed Series 31/6/15 for more on the Student Senate).  Undergraduates found the Student Senate unresponsive to their needs and desires, and ASG was designed to address their concerns.  The purpose for the new organization, according to 1969/1970 ASG President Mike Place, was to have less of a formalized government and more of a forum for discussion and negotiation.

The Associated Student Government’s leadership consists of an executive and a legislative body. Its Executive Board is comprised of a President, Executive Vice President, Financial Vice President, Academic Vice President, and Student Services Vice President.  These officers are elected annually by the student body.  The ASG Senate, the legislative body, makes up the remainder of the organization.  The nearly 100 senators are elected from student groups and residences to propose, discuss, and pass legislation reflecting the student body’s desires.

Every senator participates in a specialized committee.  The most important of these is the Student Activities Funding Board (SAFB), which is responsible for appropriating funds to Northwestern’s student groups.  The Rules Committee, which maintains order and proper protocol during ASG meetings, Campus Relations Committee, and External Relations Committee are also important to the Senate’s efforts.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Records of the Associated Student Government

Identifier: 31/5/1

The Records of Northwestern University's Associated Student Government are contained in 31 boxes. The original collection spans the years 1969 to 1998; several additions extend the coverage to 2007. The bulk of the records consist of Senate legislation and minutes, as well as the work of smaller committees. The records are divided into several subseries: Organic Documents, Legislation, Minutes and Agendas, Membership Records, Committees.

Dates: 1960-2008