Bennett, Robert Russell papers Edit




  • 1911-1981 (Creation)
  • Date acquired: 12/02/2002 (Other)


  • 40.00 Linear Feet (Whole)
  • 90 Boxes (Whole)



  • Scope and Contents

    Mostly music manuscripts of original compositions and arrangements, the collection also includes drafts of two autobiographies, printed scores, and LPs from Bennett's collection.

  • Arrangement Note

    Arranged in six series, one of which has been further arranged in subseries. The contents of each series or subseries are arranged alphabetically.  The series and subseries arrangement of the records is as follows:   Series 1: Original Compositions, 1911-1981     Subseries 1: Orchestral Music, 1926-1971     Subseries 2: Stage Works, 1916-1972     Subseries 3: Wind Band, 1965-1981     Subseries 4: Chamber Music, 1911-1974     Subseries 5: Vocal Music, 1917-1975     Subseries 6: "Radio Orchestra" Compositions, 1940-1945   Series 2: Arrangements     Subseries 1: "Radio Orchestra" Arrangements     Subseries 2: Arrangements of Other Composer's Works     Subseries 3: Victory at Sea, 1952-1953   Series 3: Miscellaneous Sketches and Scores   Series 4: Prose Works   Series 5: Printed Scores, 1913-1979   Series 6: Long-Playing Albums, 196-, 1971-1980

  • Method of Acquisition

    Donated by Kean McDonald to the Music Library on February 12, 2002.

  • Accruals and Additions

    Received Five improvisations for flute, cello, and piano from Frances Blaisdell on Dec. 3, 2003.

  • Custodial History

    When Bennett died in August of 1981, these scores were held in trust by the Philadelphia National Bank for the income benefit of his daughter Beatrice Jean Bennett, who would pass away in February 2001.

  • Existence and Location of Originals


  • Related Materials


  • Separated Materials

    Photocopies of manuscripts discarded.  Duplicate printed Bennett scores and unmarked printed scores by other composers were added to the circulating collection as needed or discarded.

  • Preferred Citation

    Robert Russell Bennett Papers, Northwestern University Music Library.

  • Processing Information

    Initially arranged by Michael Duffy and Don Roberts from the original 22 shipping boxes into 91 boxes in 2002; preliminary inventory of that work exists; reordered by Morris S. Levy in summer 2010.