Skip to main content

Jean Martinon papers

Identifier: Martinon

  • Staff Only
  • No requestable containers

Scope and Contents

The materials in the Jean Martinon Papers span the years 1923-1994. Reflecting the origin of the materials, the collection has been organized into eight series: Ephemera (Manuscript), Ephemera (Printed), Correspondence, Jean Martinon Society Records, Association Jean Martinon Publications, Published Scores, Unpublished Scores, and Arrangements.  In most cases, original folder titles have been retained. Materials within folders are arranged chronologically.

Series 1, 2 and 3 consist of Martinon's own papers, writings, correspondence, and other documents. Items in Series I include Martinon's articles, lectures, and poetry; of particular note are the materials illuminating Martinon's interest in mountain climbing.  Series II includes programs from Martinon's own performances and from performances of his works. The correspondence files in Series III consist of individual folders of letters to and from fifty friends and colleagues. The folders are arranged alphabetically by surname of the correspondent. Topics include questions posed to Andre Malraux from a group composed of Martinon, Dutilleux, Ohana, and others who disliked the Viennese School and electronic music. Correpsondence dates from 1959-1976, with the bulk of the letters dating in the early-to-mid 1960s.

Series 4 consists of materials donated to the Music Library by the Jean Martinon Society when the group disbanded in 1993.  The publications in Series 5 provide much information about Martinon's life and work, including volumes of photocopied interviews and articles, reviews of recordings and performances, and a catalogue raisonée of his recordings.  Much of the Association Jean Martinon material is in French.

Series 6 contains fourteen folders of published scores. Two scores have the same opus number, Introduction et toccata, op. 45 and Symphonie no 3 "Irlandaise", op. 45. The Jean Martinon Society lists the first composition as op. 44. However, in examining the score of Introduction et toccata, it clearly is marked as op. 45.

Five boxes constitute Series 7, consisting of unpublished scores, including two compositions that were never published, En Promenade and Déchiffrage pour hautbois.

Series 8 contains three folders of Martinon's arrangements of music by Bach, Beethoven, and Paganini.


  • 1923-1994
  • Other: Date acquired: 05/12/1988



13.00 Boxes

Language of Materials



The papers of composer/conductor Jean Martinon consist of materials created by Martinon himself (including published and unpublished manuscript scores and arrangements of compositions written between 1935 and 1975), and biographical and other materials produced or collected by the Jean Martinon Society and the Association Jean Martinon.


The papers of Jean Martinon are organized into: ephemera (manuscript; printed); correspondence (arranged alphabetically by surname); Jean Martinon Society records (arranged alphabetically by title); Association Jean Martinon publications (arranged alphabetically by title); scores (published; punpublished; arrangements; each group arranged alphabetically by title). In most cases, original folder titles have been retained. Materials within folders are arranged chronologically.

Source of Acquisition

Nery Martinon

Method of Acquisition

The materials were donated to the Northwestern University Music Library by Martinon's widow, Nery Martinon, beginning in December 29, 1986.

Appraisal Information

Several duplicate published scores were discarded. Small amounts of duplicate and extraneous material were discarded.

Processing Information

Ivan Moreno; edited by Janet Olsen and Morris S. Levy.

Guide to the Jean Martinon papers
Ivan Moreno; edited by Janet Olsen and Morris S. Levy
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note

Library Details

Part of the Music Library Repository

Deering Library, Level 3
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston IL 60208-2300 US